Stirling Castle

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We’ve had fantastic visits to Stirling Castle this week, heard about all sorts of things and tried on all sorts of costumes šŸ™‚

I didn’t know that Mary, Queen of Scots, couldn’t speak French when she was sent to France! (As if it wasn’t bad enough to be sent away from your Mum and your home).

Anyway, how was your visit to the castle? Leave a comment telling us what you thought of the trip AND what you found out that you didn’t know before?

35 thoughts on “Stirling Castle

  1. I enjoyed the trip to Stirling Castle,because I learned a bit more about the topic we are talking about in IDL.I think now I understand the topic a bit more and I learned that young Mary had spent a lot of time mastering the french language.I learned about the foods they ate back then like swans and peacock and i’m glad we dont eat them now :).

  2. I had a good trip to Stirling Castle . I learned that the volcano from the castle to the Wallace monument was one whole volcano . šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  3. We had an amazing trip to Strirling Castle. šŸ™‚ I leraned that mary couldnt speak french when she went to france and i leaned that Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument where both on the same volcano šŸ˜€

  4. I had a great day at Stirling yesterday. I learned more about the castle and the rooms they have and how they use them. I also learned that when Mary was sent over to France she didnt even know how to speak french. I learned about the different foods they ate compared to what we eat now,for example they used to eat peacocks and swans.

  5. I had a good time yestrday in the Stirling castle. I have learned that they ate swans.

  6. I had a good time at Stirling Castle. it was fun and very interesting to find out all the things about it and the different displays made it look like you where there at that time.

    I was interested to find out about the food we dont eat now.

  7. Stirling yesterday was awesome šŸ˜€
    I never knew that Stirling Castle had a palace within the castle or that Mary was sent to France so young and never knew French at the time.. or that they ate a lot of seafood there once..

  8. Yesterday Stirling castle was great. I never knew that mary queen of scots was sent there I also didn’t know that they ate peacock, swan and eels.

  9. I enjoy my visit to Stirling Castle. I had fun dress up. I learned that Mary Queen of Scots didn’t no French went she went over to France.

  10. stirling castle was a good trip, i learned that they were obsessed with unicorn horns, which turned out to be the horn of a narwhal. i also learned that mary only knew scots and not french when she married francis II

  11. I enjoyed all the comedy that was there like dressing up and the usher giving us the grand tour but what i didnt know is that mary queen of scots had such a great up to date room and bed

  12. Stirling Castle was great. I learned that they believed in unicorns and that someone took the horn of a narwhal and Royal Familys thought that it was a unicorn horn!

  13. i thought that the day was quite fun and entertaining i learned that the cooks had to sleep in the kitchen

  14. I thaught it was a good day out of school and it was funny dressing up in olden days clothes

  15. I had a great day at Stirling Castle:-) I enjoyed doing the drawings though i did not finish any as I am slow at drawing things. I would like to go again someday.

  16. i enjoyed the trip really well and it was a buckle so thanks to the teachers who helped 2 organise the trip

  17. I enjoyed my trip at stirling castle. I enjoyed dressing up. I didnt know that she was every young. and that they love unicorns.

  18. I had a good time at stirling because it was fun to dress up and get to see where mary queen of scots room was and were she played.

  19. Yesturday at stirling castle we learned lots of new things like mary spoke french .we learned lots of things about james the 4th.

  20. I thought that it was a great trip, as we dressed up into clothes that people of the time of Mary Queen of Scots used to wear.

  21. Stirling Castle was a great school trip. I learned loads of new stuff, like Mary didnt know how to speak any French when she moved to France and they all thought that unicorn horns were magic but they really were a tooth from a wale.

  22. the visit to stirling castle was really interesting, it was good to see things, that were really old and royal. It was cool being in a place were royals had been before. I learned that Mary Queen of scots, couldnt speak french, when she lived there.

  23. yesterday I learned that they use to eat lots of different foods . I thought the trip was good and a fun day out of school.

  24. Yesterday at stirling castle we learned about different foods that they ate that we wouldn’t eat now some like Swan. We also saw different tapistrys in the bedrooms and learned about the history about the rooms.

  25. i enjoyed the trip to Stirling Castle yesterday. it was very helpful information because it will help me in IDL. I learned that Mary Queen of Scots was a sporty woman

  26. the visit to stirling castle was really interesting, it was good to see things, that were really old and royal. It was cool being in a place were royals had been before. I learned that Mary Queen of scots, couldnt speak french, when she lived there. šŸ˜€

  27. I really enjoyed my trip to Striling Castle,I found out lots of good information about Mary Queen Of Scots.I found out that she was very sporty and never knew any French when she moved to France,I would go again.

  28. I really enjoyed my trip to Stirling Castle, I enjoyed it when we went into the kitchen and saw all the different foods that they ate back then. I also found out that they didn’t eat potatoesn and many other foods. I would really like to go again.

  29. i realy enjoyed the trip to stirling castle in idl because i learned very important information that i did’nt know before :)and i realy liked the tour guide :Di learned lots about the diffrent foods they ate šŸ˜‰ im realy glad we dont eat them now šŸ™‚ i didnt like that we had to be with a teacher all the time šŸ˜¦ i thought the best par of the full trip was the bus journey :p šŸ˜€

  30. I really enjoyed my visit to stirling castle. I learned that mary queen of scots was a sporty person she especially enjoyed football even though she wasnt very good at the sport. I really enjoyed learning the foods they ate back then and some of the food looked rather nice. What i didnt like that much was when we were finished the tour with kirsten was that we had to stay in our own group. It would of been better if we could go about ourselves and checked in once and a while. Overall the trip was amazing

  31. I really enjoyed the trip to Stirling Castle . I never knew that Mary Queen of Scots was a sporty person . I loved dressing up in costumes . Overall the trip was amazing and I would love to go again.

  32. I really enjoyed Strirling Castle i was really interested by the first football ever the prices were exstroshenet in the gift shop the bus journey was amazing but the best bit was a day out of school šŸ˜€ !!!

Leave a Reply

